+94 11 2698426 | +94 11 2699202 | info@iesl.lk

112th Annual Sessions of the IESL, ceremonially inaugurated Eng. (Prof.) T.M. Pallewatta inducted as President for 2018 / 2019 Sessions

112th Annual Sessions of the IESL ceremonially inaugurated Eng. (Prof.) T.M. Pallewatta inducted as President for 2018 / 2019 Sessions

The ceremonial inauguration of the  112th Annual Sessions of the Institution of Engineers, Sri Lanka (IESL) was held on Tuesday, 16th October 2018, at the Main Hall, BMICH in the presence of a large gathering of participants.

Hon. Karu Jayasuriya, Speaker of Parliament, Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, graced the occasion as the Chief Guest while Eng. M.R. Prelis, former CEO of DFCC Bank was Guest of Honour. The Keynote Speaker was Mr. Vajira Kulatilake, Director / Chief Executive Officer, NDB Capital Holdings Ltd.  Foreign delegates from FEISCA member organizations in India,    Pakistan, Bangladesh and Myanmar also participated in the event. 

The highlight of the inauguration of annual sessions held in October of each year is the handing over of the mantle of the presidency to the incoming president by the outgoing president after a reign of I year as president from October of the previous year. 

Eng. (Prof.) T.M. Pallewatta was inducted this year as President of IESL for 2018 / 2019 sessions. In his inaugural presidential address at the event he laid out his plans for taking forward the institutions stated missions towards achieving its vision. (Link to Presidential Address) 

Eng. (Prof.) Mrs. Niranjanie Ratnayake, the outgoing President in her speech highlighted the global impact of human disregard for sustainable practices and the need to correct present trends and also wished the incoming President and Council success in their endeavour towards reaching the goals of the new session 2018 / 2019. (Link to Outgoing Presidents Address)

The Guest of Honour, Eng. M.R. Prelis,  in his address highlighted the plight of our country’s engineers in the current scenario of professional competitiveness and the contrast it has with other countries where engineers are given pride of place in countries’ development process.. 

The keynote speaker, Mr. Vajira Kulatilake, in his speech described in depth the structural reforms needed in the face of all current infrastructure being done by the government with no real investments coming from abroad. He pointed out the huge budget deficits and the practice of living beyond the means by borrowing that has come to be the mainstay of the country’s governance. He pointed out that the only viable solution on the table is the policy of Private Public Partnership.

The event also saw certificates being presented to those admitted to the status of Honorary Life Fellows, Fellows and International Professional Engineers.

 Awards and certificates were also given to winners of special and memorial awards. 

School children who are winners of the IESL Junior Inventor of the Year 2018 competition were also awarded at the event 

The Vote of Thanks was proposed by Eng. (Prof.) S.B. Abayakoon, the President-Elect for 2018 / 2019 sessions. 

Event Photos

Published Date: 2019-05-12 23:23:13