Ceremonial Inauguration of 111th Annual Sessions of the IESL Eng. (Prof.) Mrs. Niranjanie Ratnayake, IESL President for 2017 / 2018 Sessions

21 Oct 2017 5:00 PM | IESL (Administrator)

The 111th Annual Sessions of the Institution of Engineers, Sri Lanka was ceremonially inaugurated on Friday, 20th October 2017, at the Main Hall, BMICH in the presence of a large gathering of participants.

Hon. Patali Champika Ranawaka, Minister of Metropolis and Western Development graced the occasion as the Chief Guest while Hon. Dr. Harsha De Silva, Deputy Minister of National Policies and Economic Affairs was Guest of Honour. The Keynote Speaker was Prof Tim Broyd, President, Institution of Civil Engineers, London.  Foreign delegates from FEISCA member organizations in India,    Pakistan, Bangladesh and Nepal also participated in the event.

The highlight of the inauguration of annual sessions held in October of each year is the handing over of the mantle of presidency to the incoming president by the outgoing president after a reign of I year as president from October of the previous year.

Eng. (Prof.) Mrs.Niranjanie Ratnayake was inducted this year as President of IESL for 2017 / 2018 sessions. In her inaugural presidential address at the event she laid out her plans for rapidly advancing on the institutions stated missions towards achieving its vision. (Link to Presidential Address)

Eng. Jayavilal Meegoda, the outgoing President in his speech while describing the achievements of his session also wished the incoming President and Council success in their endeavor towards reaching the goals of the new session 2017 / 2018. 

The event also saw certificates being presented to those admitted to the status of Honorary Life Fellows, Fellows and International Professional Engineers. Awards and certificates were also given to winners of special and memorial awards.

School children who are winners of the IESL Junior Inventor of the Year 2017 competition were also awarded at the event

The Vote of Thanks was proposed by Eng. (Prof.) T.M. Pallewatte, the President Elect for 2017 / 2018 sessions.

Event Photos

Event Video

 © 2013 IESL. All rights reserved  Follow us on twitterLike our facebook pageIESL souvenir
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software