Ceremonial Inauguration of 110th Annual Sessions of the IESL - Eng. Jayavilal Meegoda inducted as President for the 2016 / 2017 sessions

15 Oct 2016 3:50 PM | IESL (Administrator)

The 110th Annual Sessions of the Institution of Engineers, Sri Lanka was ceremonially inaugurated on Friday, 14th October 2016, at the Main Hall, BMICH in the presence of a large gathering of over a thousand participants.

Hon. Prime Minister, Ranil Wickremasinghe  graced the occasion as the Chief Guest while Hon. Patali Champika Ranawaka, Minister of Megapolis and Western Development was the Special Guest. Mr. Khoo Teng. Chye, Executive Director, Centre for Liveable Cities, Ministry of National Development (MND), Singapore  was the Guest of Honour. Foreign delegates from sister organizations in India,    Pakistan, Bangladesh and Nepal also participated in the event.

Speaking at the event the Chief Guest, Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe while appreciating the role played by engineers also laid out the country’s wider expectations of its engineers for its sustainable development. He mentioned the country’s choice of a knowledge based economy and the need to widen the scope for teaching technology so that students of the arts stream too would have  the choice of selecting science / mathematics as a subject. He expressed his support for a single body to regulate the practice of the engineering profession through the Engineering Council Bill currently with parliament and said that he wants the engineers produced by the country to be second class to none. 

Hon. Patali Champika Ranawaka, Minister of Megapolis and Western Development in his speech stressed on the technological advancement sought through the  knowledge based development aspect of the ministry’s programme. 

Mr. Khoo Teng Chye, the Guest of Honuor, in his speech related the Singaporean experience of sustainable development and the contribution Singapore is making towards urban development in Sri Lanka. 

The highlight of the inauguration of annual sessions held in October of each year is the handing over of the mantle of presidency to the incoming president by the outgoing president after a reign of I year as president from October of the previous year.

Eng. Jayavilal Meegoda, was inducted this year as President of IESL for 2016 / 2017 sessions. In his inaugural presidential address at the event he laid out his plans for rapidly advancing on the institutions stated missions towards achieving its vision.

Eng. Wimalasena Gamage, the outgoing President in his speech while describing the achievements of his session also stressed on the need for a paradigm shift in the role of the engineer from control of nature to participation with nature in the engineering works undertaken by them. 

The Vote of Thanks was proposed by Eng. (Prof.) Mrs. Niranjanie Ratnayake, the President Elect for 2016 / 2017 sessions.

 © 2013 IESL. All rights reserved  Follow us on twitterLike our facebook pageIESL souvenir
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software