Founded 1906
Apex body for professional Engineers in Sri Lanka
The Institution of Engineers Sri Lanka


Awards Ceremony Techno Sri Lanka 2015 - Celebration of Success of 30th year of the Techno

07 Nov 2015 11:38 AM | IESL (Administrator)

Celebration of Success of 30th year of the Techno

The awards ceremony connected with the recently concluded Techno Sri Lanka 2015 exhibition, the 30th exhibition since the inception of the Techno concept in 1985, was held in all its grandeur on Friday, 6th  November, 2015 at the Hotel Galadari, Colombo, from 7.00 pm onwards. The large gathering that participated comprised of stallholders, sponsors, distinguished guests, Council members, Past Presidents, members of the organizing committee and staff of the IESL Secretariat.

Eng. (Prof.) Dayantha Wijesekera, Chancellor of UNIVOTEC and former Vice Chancellor of the University of Moratuwa and the Open University of Sri Lanka graced the occasion as the Chief Guest while Eng. S.B. Wijekoon – President, IESL for the 2014 / 2015 Sessions delivered the Welcome Address.

The event was livened up by performances by the ‘Chandana and the dancers’ guild’ troupe to the tune of the music provided by ‘ Music Engineers’, the All-IESL-Engineers band. It was an occasion for revelries associated with receiving of awards for the best displays, demonstrations, winnings in competitions, raffle draws, etc. connected with the exhibition.

Eng. Wimalasena Gamage, President Elect 2014 / 2015 Sessions and Chairman – Techno Sri Lanka 2015 Organizing Committee proposed the Vote of Thanks for the event

Awards were presented in the following categories:

Winners of competitions organized by the Young Members Section:

Hackathon Sytems Design & Development competition for Electrical, Electronics, Telecommunication and IT undergradauates  in which the 1st , 2nd and 3rd places were clinched by Team “Tracker”, Team “Envision” and Team “SAS Ninjas” all  from the University of Moratuwa

Spaghetty Bridge Design competition for Civil Engineering undergraduates in which 1st and 2nd places were secured by Team “Spartanz” and Team “Spaghetti Compatitors” from the University of Ruhuna while the 3rd place went to the Team “LMN Bridge” from University of Peradeniya

Cad Eager, Computer Aided Design competition for Mechanical Engineering undergraduates in which 1st, 2nd and 3rd places were all clinched by teams from University of Ruhuna

The Members Raffle Draw were won by the following;

1st Prize – Eng. S.M. Madwalagama (Samsung TAB)

2nd Prize – Eng. Thivanka Gunawardena (Smart Phone)

3rd Prize – Eng. S.M. Jayasundara (Week-end package for a couple at a star class hotel)

The awards for the best university stalls were won as follows:

Gold Award – University of Moratuwa

Silver Award – University of Ruhuna

Bronze Award – University of Peradeniya

Awards for the stalls displaying the Most Innovative Local Product were won by the following:

Gold Award – A & T Labs Private Ltd.

Silver Award – FLATORB XEITIEX Private Ltd.

Awards for the stalls displaying the Products with the Highest Social Impact were won by the following:

Gold Award – Mobitel Pvt. Ltd

Silver Award - A & T Labs Pvt. Ltd.

Bronze Award – Oklan Marketing Services (Pvt.) Ltd. 

Awards for the stalls with the best display of  Local Products

Gold Award – Brown & Company PLC.

Silver Award – Pubudu Engineering (Pvt.) Ltd.

Bronze Award – ACL Cables and Magline Switchboards (Pvt.) Ltd.

Awards for the stalls with the best display of Imported Products

Gold Award – Dockyard General Engineering Services (Pvt.) Ltd.

Silver Award – J Lanka Technologies

Bronze Award – Green Engineering Systems (Pvt.) Ltd.

Awards for the stalls with the best display of Engineering Services were won by the following:

Gold Award – J Lanka Technologies

Silver Award – Pubudul Engineering (Pvt.) Ltd. 

Bronze Award – Coolman Refrigerators (Pvt.) Ltd. and Techmast Automation (Pvt.) Ltd.

Awards for the Stalls with the Best Demonstration

Gold Award – Mobitel (Pvt.) Ltd.

Silver Award – Dockyard General Engineering Services (Pvt.) Ltd.

Bronze Award – Brown & Company PLC

Awards for the Best Sectional Committee - IESL were won by the following:

Gold Award – Building Services Engineering Sectional Committee – IESL

Silver Award – Civil Engineering Sectional Committee – IESL

Bronze Award – Mechanical Engineering Sectional Committee – IESL

Awards for the         Best Provincial Chapter – IESL were won by the following:

Gold Award – Uva Chapter – IESL

Silver Award – Wayamba Chapter – IESL

Bronze Award – Kandurata Chapter – IESL

The event also saw tokens of appreciation being presented to sponsors for the Techno Sri Lanka 2015

Principal Sponsors -  Sri Lanka Telecom PLC and Sri Lanka Telecom Mobitel

Platinum Sponsor – Dockyard General Engineering Services Ltd.

Gold Sponsor – Brown & Company PLC

Silver Sponsor – Access Engineering PLC

Event Sponsor – Siemens Ltd.

Co-sponsor – Yunica Design Engineers & Consultants

Official Hotel – Galadari Hotel

Print Media Sponsor – Associated Newspapers Ceylon Ltd.

Electronic Media Sponsor – Derana TV

Tokens in Special Appreciations of contribution towards Techno Sri Lanka 2015 & for the past several years were presented to Eng. Mangala Silva, Eng. (Ms.) P.M.P. Wijeratne and Eng. Progeeth Pathmendra

Tokens of Appreciation were also presented to the Panel of the Techno Sri Lanka 2015

Last Updated 9th November 2015
 © 2013 IESL. All rights reserved  Follow us on twitterLike our facebook pageIESL souvenir
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software