Founded 1906
Apex body for professional Engineers in Sri Lanka
The Institution of Engineers Sri Lanka


Music Engineers – The All-IESL-Engineers Band, Wins hearts at TECHNO 2015

21 Oct 2015 3:36 PM | IESL (Administrator)

Music Engineers of IESL Performed at TECHNO  2015 - 30th Anniversary

For the first time in the history of IESL and TECHNO, the music band formed with only Engineers who are members of IESL, performed at the TECHNO exhibition premises on 10th and 11th of October 2015 from 6.30pm to 8.30pm. There were about 20 items comprising instrumentals, Sinhala, Hindi, English classicals and Baila session towards the end as well. It was a real entertainment for the audience who rated the event as one of the best. Most who watched the event till end said that ‘the performance was no second to any professional band’.

It was noted that all band players brought their own instruments for the practice sessions at IESL. Specially Eng Dharshana more than acting as a band leader brought his own keyboard, amplifiers, speakers and Eng Ganegoda his own set of bongo and Eng Chandana, Eng Dhanuka, Eng Suresh brought their own guitars, microphones, mini amplifiers etc. Eng Iranga travelled all the way from Kandy for the practice sessions. Their dedication and commitment in this endeavor was highly appreciated by IESL President, all council members and many others. Eng. Darshana Perera, Eng Prabodha Jinasena,  Eng Surendra Perea, Eng Shantha Fernando, Eng Neil Jayasekara, Eng Thushani Shashikala, Eng Keerthi Gunawardhana, Eng Sarathchandra kumara, Eng. Chandana Dalugoda, Eng. Suresh Gunasekara, Eng. Ranga Kumarasinghe contributed in singing and Eng Tharindu Weerasighe, Eng Gayathri Alahakoon, Eng Athula Kumara and Eng Sajeevi Pumika contributed in announcing.

The IESL music band was formed with the concept of Eng Prabodha Jinasena, Chairman- Civil Engineering Sectional Committee of IESL and all coordination work of the Music Band was done by Eng Champika Ranasinghe of CESC.

Band composition is:

  •     Eng. Darshana Perera (Band Leader) – keyboard
  •     Eng. Chandana Dalugoda - Rhythm Guitar
  •     Eng. Suresh Gunasekara – Lead Guitar
  •     Eng. Dhanuka Madushanka – Bass Guitar
  •     Eng. Iranga Fonseka - Drums
  •     Eng. Thusitha Ganegoda – Bongo
  •     Eng. Harsha Wickramasinghe - Bass Guitar
  •     Eng. Kalindu Wijesundara – Rhythm Guitar
  •     Eng. Ranga Kumarasinghe – Lead Guitar

 © 2013 IESL. All rights reserved  Follow us on twitterLike our facebook pageIESL souvenir
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software