Founded 1906
Apex body for professional Engineers in Sri Lanka
The Institution of Engineers Sri Lanka


IESL Rajarata Chapter Creates History

27 Nov 2014 7:01 PM | IESL (Administrator)

The IESL Rajarata Chapter became the first ever provincial branch of the IESL to have its own building facility when IESL President, Eng. S.B.Wijekoon declared open its new office premises at No.55 Puttalam Road, Pandulagama, Anuradhapura,  completed under the first phase of construction, on Thursday, 20th November, 2014. Construction work was begun in January, 2013 on a plot of land obtained from the government. Members of the chapter provided the design and layout, while the IESL head office donated a sum of Rs 2 million towards the cost of the construction. Funds were also solicited by the chapter from sponsors.

The ceremony began with the unveiling of the plaque and ribbon cutting by the President of IESL. This was followed by the lighting of the Traditional Oil Lamp and National Anthem. The large audience comprised of members, distinguished guests and invitees were welcomed by the Hony. Chairman of the chapter, Eng. Sujith Jayasuriya. This was followed by the address by the Past President of IESL – Eng. Tilak De Silva.  The keynote speech was delivered by Prof. Madduma Bandara – Vice Chancellor of the University of Peradeniya  and  Eng. Nihal Rupasinghe –Chairman CECB delivered the    guest speech for the event. This was followed by the address by President of the IESL, Eng. S.B. Wijekoon. Thereafter  Eng. (Ms.) Lalani Wijesekera – Hony. Secretary of the chapter proposed the Vote of Thanks before refreshments concluding the ceremony


That the Rajarata chapter achieved this distinction is not surprising as it is a reflection of the enduring pioneer spirit in the engineers of the North Central Province where the predecessor of the IESL, the Engineering Association of Ceylon, was first established in 1906 by a few Government Officers serving in the province. Eng. Wimalasena Gamage –President Elect, Prof. (Mrs.) Niranjanie Ratnayake – Vice President, Eng. Arjuna Manamperi – Council Member, Eng. (Mrs.) Arundathi Wimalasuriya – Executive Secretary, IESL and  Eng. (Mrs.) Badra Jayaweera – Deputy Executive Secretary, IESL also graced the occasion with their presence.

 © 2013 IESL. All rights reserved  Follow us on twitterLike our facebook pageIESL souvenir
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software