Founded 1906
Apex body for professional Engineers in Sri Lanka
The Institution of Engineers Sri Lanka


IESL Central Provincial Centre AGM held at Kandy

04 Oct 2013 11:44 AM | IESL (Administrator)

The Institution of Engineers, Sri Lanka Central Provincial Centre (IESL CPC) held its Annual General Meeting at the Hotel Oak Ray Regency, Kandy on 27th Sept. 2013, in the presence of a large gathering of its members from all over the province. .Hon. Mahindananda Aluthgamage - Minister of Sports was the Chief Guest while President of the IESL, Eng. Tilak De Silva, Eng. Shavindranath Fernando, President-Elect of IESL   and Eng. Arjuna Manamperi, Chairman – ICT Committee of the IESL graced the occasion as special guests.

 The very first provincial arm of the IESL, the IESL CPC was established in 1982. It has over 500 members from its 3 districts of Kandy, Matale and Nuwar Eliya working in public and private sector. The province is home to some of the largest hydro-power generation infrastructure in the country in addition to infrastructure related to supply of safe drinking water, education, health, etc.

In his address the Hon. Minister: expressed his appreciation of the vital role played by engineers in developing  Kandy and other parts of the country. He however stressed the importance of demonstration of  innovative and entrepreneurial excellence rather than just managerial skills among engineers as they are the most qualified to do so.

The President, IESL in his speech informed that the IESL is now globally connected and that the potential for group activities of the provincial centres has increased and that it’s necessary that they have places of their own to perform their enhanced functions effectively. He also stressed that all members should register with the  new membership management system of the IESL and be partners in the digital journey of the IESL and derive full benefits from

Eng.Shavindranath Fernando: gave a presentation on supply and demand for "energy" in Sri Lanka and pros and cons of various available energy sources. He also promoted Techno 2013

A get together followed the AGM with lots of fellowship and enjoyment among the more than 150 members who attended

Office Bearers of the IESL Center, Central Province for year 2013/2014




Eng. B.M.U.S. Bandara

Vice Chairman

Eng. M.S. Withanage


Eng. Palitha Abekoon


Eng. H.P.N. Senarathna

Asst. Secretary

Eng. Dharaka Vithana


Eng. Sanjeewa Perera

Web Master

Eng. Dr. Kamalanath Samarakoon

Committee Members

Eng. S.M. Kumarasingha

Eng. D.V. Madawattha

Eng. P. Suresh

Eng. Palugaswewa

Representative Members

Eng. D.T. Siriwardana

Eng. W.R.M.U. Wicramasingha

Eng. Anurudda Rathnayake

 © 2013 IESL. All rights reserved  Follow us on twitterLike our facebook pageIESL souvenir
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software